Home People Opinions

Opinions

The Making Of ‘The Wild Meat Trail’

December 2010: Tai set down his backpack of cane and bamboo at the base of the tree. Barefoot, he clasped the trunk with his arms and legs and climbed up to about nine metres high. Swiftly he slid across a thick horizontal branch and extracted a dead red-bellied squirrel out of the hand-made trap he had set two days earlier.

Nature Needs Half

December 2010: We have one life, you got to do what you should.
One life, with each other… sisters, brothers.  
One life, but we’re not the same, we got to carry each other, carry each other.
(One, U2, 1992)

My Husband And Other Animals — The Endangered Scrub Jungle

November 19, 2010: I often wonder what the forests around Chengalpet looked like before they were cut down to make way for agriculture centuries ago. When we first moved here, botanists from Auroville drew up an inventory of the trees and plants found in the adjacent forest.

A Power Statement We Should Be Ashamed Of

November 17, 2010: Ramesh Must Review Sending Elephants To Turkmenistan; We Must Rethink Why So Many Animals And Birds Locked Up In Zoos.

 

The 2010 vision statement of the Central Zoo Authority says that zoos “will have healthy animals in eco-system based naturalistic enclosures, supportive to in-situ conservation with competent and…

Will The Tiger Fall Prey To The Mining Lobby?

October 26, 2010: The tiger’s most unfortunate truth — besides the fact that man wants to make a meal of its bones — is that the ground beneath its feet is rich with minerals, and greed has cast its eye on it. Millions of hectares of ‘tigerland’ have been diverted for mining and the demand to open up more escalates. The latest horror story is from Rajasthan.

Animal Rights, Human Wrongs" – Why We Need To Change The Language Of Wildlife Conservation

October 21, 2010: Take away a name and you reduce a personality to a statistic. The seven elephants killed by a train and the Jhurjhura tigress hit by a vehicle are not just erased numbers. These are incalculable losses of demonstrably sentient creatures. Their killings are unacceptable. Every one impoverishes mankind.

The Black And The Green

October 2010: “Sir, I’m really interested in doing something for the environment. What do you suggest I do?”

 

I get asked this all the time, most often by law college undergraduates. It puzzles me. What makes these young men and women so passionate about ‘wanting to do something’?

Sierra Club India Environment Post: Leadership On Fossil Fuels Better To Burn Out Or Fade Away?

October 11, 2010: This past weekend civil society members from around the world descended on Washington D.C. for the World Bank/IMF Annual Meetings. With the memory of the Eskom Medupi battle fresh in the minds of many, and the World Bank energy strategy review well underway, the meetings were a chance for civil society to forcefully advocate for the Bank to phase out lending for fossil…

Jairam Ramesh On Environment And Development

September 28, 2010: Jairam Ramesh Minister of State (Independent Charge), Environment and Forests, Government of India, is a clear thinking human being. One might differ with him on this issue or that, but almost everyone would agree that his his head and heart are in synch.

Opinion

September 16, 2010: India was once an entirely forested land and sacred trees like the Peepul and Banyan figure prominently in the early water colour paintings of the Company period and in fact embellish them with the character of the culture of sacred places in India such as Varanasi, Calcutta, etc. and such paintings may be seen in large canvases in the Victoria memorial.

Page 7 of 8